linguini with spicy marinara and boursin meatballs

Things have changed a lot in the past several months.  You might have noticed it has been a bit quiet here.  Well, since we spoke last, I went from this:

to this:

We turned 30.  We put miles on our cars.  A lot of miles.  I learned to live on quickly prepared meals, relying more heavily on a microwave than in any other period of my life, even college.  I missed being home.  I missed cooking.  I was so out of practice that as I prepared to make my first real grocery list in nearly three months, I struggled to find inspiration.  There was so much I wanted to make and eat, yet nothing was coming to mind.  I spent hours lazing in my borrowed recliner as I cycled through cooking site after cooking site, desperately seeking the motivation and the ingredients needed to make a successful grocery list.

After being gifted with a few beautiful 65+ degree days, Mother Nature decided to remind us all it was still February with a bit of a “wintry mix” in store for the early part of the week.  I realized I had missed cooking so many of the winter comfort foods that I love and decided to treat myself to a little splurge and a big plate of home cooking.  Oddly enough, it was one of my quickest meals from my houseguest period that I kept coming back to – a fast spicy marinara sauce.  But this time, with a kitchen in my possession, albeit small, I needed to jazz it up a bit.  Have I ever mentioned that I like Boursin?

And then, there it was.  Inspiration!  A small disk of Boursin later, and we were looking to have some serious meatballs to go with the spicy marinara.  And so I started the sauce.  This has truly become a go-to marinara for me.  I find it perfect with chicken/eggplant parmesan, tasty tossed lightly with pasta, or rich underneath the melted blanket of mozzarella on a homemade pizza.  And with only five ingredients, it should become part of your repetoire as well.  Plus, you get to squeeze tomatoes with your hands.  What’s more fun than that?

The meatballs are equally simple as well.  Ground beef, onion, breadcrumbs, a bit of parsley, garlic, an egg, and oh yes, the Boursin, and you have some serious flavor happening.  As the first meatballs hit the hot oil and the steam from the pan began to rise toward the ceiling, I quickly realized two things.  These meatballs were going to be delicious.  The second?  This tiny apartment kitchen doesn’t stand a chance!

linguini with spicy marinara and boursin meatballs

recipe:  jb’s pour house

1 1/2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper (adjust to taste)

1 28 oz. can whole tomatoes

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

kosher salt, to taste

1 1/2 lb. ground beef

1 pkg. Boursin

3 Tbsp. finely chopped onion

2 Tbsp. finely chopped parsley

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 Tbsp. Parmesan cheese

1/4 c. breadcrumbs

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

1/2 tsp. dried basil

1/2 tsp. dried oregano

Extra virgin olive oil

Linguini, cooked according to package directions

 

Place olive oil and crushed red pepper in a medium saucepan over medium high heat.  Once you can smell the oil and the red pepper, add juice from tomatoes and start breaking tomatoes into pieces, holding hands over the pan.  Continue until all tomatoes are crushed into pan.  Bring to a bubble and reduce heat to medium low.  Continue simmering for about 20 minutes.  Remove from heat and using an immersion blender, puree to desired consistency (I like to leave a bit of texture).  Return to low heat and simmer, covered, until ready to use.  About 2 minutes prior to serving, add garlic and season to taste with kosher salt.

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine ground beef, Boursin, onion, parsley, Parmesan, garlic, breadcrumbs, egg, salt, pepper, basil and oregano in a medium mixing bowl.  Mix gently until just combined.  Form into meatballs based on your size preference.  For this recipe, I aimed for meatballs that were about 1 1/2 to 2 inches in diameter.  Once all meatballs have been formed, heat about 1 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil over medium high heat in a large saute pan.  Working in batches, sear meatballs on each side until golden brown, about 3 minutes per side.  Repeat until all meatballs have been seared.  Place meatballs on a large baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes.

 

Lightly toss cooked linguini with about half of the sauce.  Place pasta on individual serving plates and top with meatballs.  Lightly spoon about 1/2 Tbsp. sauce over each meatball.  Serve immediately.

 

Welcome back!

– j

All content and photographs © 2010-2011 jb’s pour house

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

2 thoughts on “linguini with spicy marinara and boursin meatballs

Leave a Reply

